Tipo di esercizi
Scelta multipla,
Completamento aperto,
Completamento chiuso,
Posizionamento,
Trova errore,
Vero o falso
Libro
Performer Heritage vol.2
Capitolo
George Orwell
INFO

Lingua inglese

George Orwell: early life
Read the following sentences and say whether they are true or false.
A: George Orwell was born in Edinburgh in 1903 with the name of Eric Blair.
B: When he was still a child, his mother took him to England, where he was educated at the preparatory school of St Cyprian's and at Eton.
C: At Eton he experienced pressure to conform to the values of the English public school tradition, which he finally accepted.
D: He opposed atheism and socialism all his life.
E: He served in Burma in the Indian Imperial Police from 1922 to 1927.
F: Then he decided to escape from British imperialism in India and more generally from every form of man's dominion over man.
Vero o falsoVero o falso
1

Il punteggio di un esercizio è determinato
dalla difficoltà: da 1 (più facile) a 5 (più
difficile).Vuoi saperne di più? Consulta il
Centro Assistenza

Lingua inglese

Nineteen Eighty-Four: a dystopian novel
Complete the sentences with the words below.

1. Nineteen Eighty-Four is set in a ________ and menacing London.
2. It shows a possible future society that is anything but ________.
3. The author offers a ________ of what the world should not become.
4. In the world depicted in the novel there is no ________.
5. The novel shows a country in a perpetual state of ________.
6. Any form of ________ against the rules is punished with prison and torture.
7. The novel does not offer consolation, but reveals the author's ________ with the victims of totalitarianisms.
PosizionamentoPosizionamento
3

Il punteggio di un esercizio è determinato
dalla difficoltà: da 1 (più facile) a 5 (più
difficile).Vuoi saperne di più? Consulta il
Centro Assistenza

Lingua inglese

George Orwell: first-hand experiences
Complete the sentences with the correct date.

1. His wife Eileen died during an operation in ________.
2. Burmese Days, published in ________, relates his experience in the colonial service.
3. The Road to Wigan Pier, which investigates the conditions of miners, factory workers and unemployed in the industrial North, was published in ________.
4. Orwell married Eileen O'Shaughnessy, an Oxford graduate interested in literature and socialism, in ________.
5. In ________ the book Homage to Catalonia appeared, where he recalled his involvement in the Spanish Civil War with the militia of the POUM.
6. In ________ Orwell's book Down and Out in Paris and London came out; it was based on a social experiment to learn what it was like to live among the poor.
PosizionamentoPosizionamento
3

Il punteggio di un esercizio è determinato
dalla difficoltà: da 1 (più facile) a 5 (più
difficile).Vuoi saperne di più? Consulta il
Centro Assistenza

Lingua inglese

George Orwell: the later years
Complete the sentences with the correct information.

1. With the outbreak of the war, Orwell moved to London and worked for the BBC on cultural and political programmes broadcast in ________.
2. In 1943 he was appointed literary editor of the socialist weekly ________.
3. In ________ he published the novel Animal Farm, which made him world-famous.
4. His last book was Nineteen Eighty-Four, published in 1949, which soon became a ________.
5. He died of ________ in 1950.
Completamento apertoCompletamento aperto
5

Il punteggio di un esercizio è determinato
dalla difficoltà: da 1 (più facile) a 5 (più
difficile).Vuoi saperne di più? Consulta il
Centro Assistenza

Lingua inglese

George Orwell: the artist's role
Choose the correct alternative to complete the sentences.

1. Orwell was unusually able to see England from the outside thanks to his experiences ________.
2. His life was characterised by an unresolved conflict between his middle-class background and his emotional ________ the working class.
3. He reflected on the role of the writer in his essay Inside the Whale, where he made a distinction between the writers of the 1920s and the those of the ________, to which he belonged.
4. He believed in the ________ function of novels, insisting at the same time that the writer should be independent, not following a party line.
5. He was a prolific critic in the tradition of Defoe and Swift, and took from Dickens his choice of social themes and ________ language.
6. He is mostly remembered for his strong stance against ________ in all its forms.
Completamento chiusoCompletamento chiuso
3

Il punteggio di un esercizio è determinato
dalla difficoltà: da 1 (più facile) a 5 (più
difficile).Vuoi saperne di più? Consulta il
Centro Assistenza

Lingua inglese

Nineteen Eighty-Four: plot
Read the text below and find the five mistakes in it.

The book is set in a past world divided into three blocks: Oceania, Eurasia and Eastasia. Oceania is ruled by the Party, whose leader is Big Brother, and is always at peace. The Party uses a new newspaper, Newspeak, and the Thought Police to control people's lives. Even though free thought is forbidden, the main character, Winston Smith, buys a secret diary. He is attracted to a girl, Julia, whom he notices at the Ministry of Education, where he works. O'Brien, a member of the Inner Party, deceives Winston by pretending to be a member of a mysterious group and has him and Julia arrested. At the Ministry of Love Winston is tortured and brainwashed by the spy O'Brien, who forces him to confront his fear of spiders and eventually manages to break Winston's will.
Trova erroreTrova errore
5

Il punteggio di un esercizio è determinato
dalla difficoltà: da 1 (più facile) a 5 (più
difficile).Vuoi saperne di più? Consulta il
Centro Assistenza

Lingua inglese

Nineteen Eighty-Four: historical background
Choose the correct alternatives to complete the sentence.

The novel
A: is set in an atmosphere similar to World War II.
B: is based on an idea suggested to Orwell by the Tehran Conference.
C: alludes to the tyrannies in Spain, Germany and the Soviet Union.
D: presents the character of Big Brother, who is both Mussolini and Hitler.
E: is against the right-wing but not the left-wing totalitarian regimes.
F: is pervaded by descriptions of hunger and mass torture.
Scelta multiplaScelta multipla
2

Il punteggio di un esercizio è determinato
dalla difficoltà: da 1 (più facile) a 5 (più
difficile).Vuoi saperne di più? Consulta il
Centro Assistenza

Lingua inglese

Nineteen Eighty-Four: setting
Choose the correct alternative to complete the sentences.

1. Oceania is depicted as a large country, which includes the Americas, the Atlantic Islands, Australia, the south of Africa and Airstrip One, the new name for ________.
2. In ________ there are three main social classes.
3. The Inner Party, which is the ruling class, includes less than 2 percent of the population, while the Outer Party is made up of the ________ workers.
4. The ________ are the working class.
5. These class distinctions ________ conflict and struggle.
Completamento chiusoCompletamento chiuso
2

Il punteggio di un esercizio è determinato
dalla difficoltà: da 1 (più facile) a 5 (più
difficile).Vuoi saperne di più? Consulta il
Centro Assistenza

Lingua inglese

Nineteen Eighty-Four: characters
Complete the sentences with the correct information.

1. Winston is 39 and physically ________.
2. He has the commonest English ________.
3. His main concern is the manipulation of ________ by the Party.
4. Julia believes that the ________ will never be overthrown.
5. O'Brien is a mysterious member of the ________ Party, who tricks Winston and Julia.
6. He tortures Winston, because he thinks that Winston has to believe in the Party in order to be cleaned and ________.
Completamento apertoCompletamento aperto
5

Il punteggio di un esercizio è determinato
dalla difficoltà: da 1 (più facile) a 5 (più
difficile).Vuoi saperne di più? Consulta il
Centro Assistenza

Lingua inglese

Nineteen Eighty-Four: themes
Read the following sentences and say whether they are true or false.
A: The novel is a satire on egalitarian post-revolutionary societies destroying fraternity.
B: Winston is able to maintain his individuality thanks to memory and mutual trust.
C: According to Orwell, man's identity is based on autonomy and isolation.
D: In Orwell's view, decency, that is, tolerance and responsible behaviour, has to be put aside in political action.
E: In the novel memory is linked to morality.
F: Orwell thought that an egalitarian society must draw on the best of the past.
Vero o falsoVero o falso
1

Il punteggio di un esercizio è determinato
dalla difficoltà: da 1 (più facile) a 5 (più
difficile).Vuoi saperne di più? Consulta il
Centro Assistenza